Underage DUI

San Bernardino Underage DUI Attorneys

Protecting the Rights of Minors in San Bernardino County

California has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. If you are under the age of 21 and are found to have any alcohol in your system, you can be charged with underage DUI. This is true even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is below the legal limit of 0.08%. If you or your child has been arrested for underage DUI, it is important to take the charges seriously and seek legal representation as soon as possible.

At Bullard & Powell, our San Bernardino underage DUI lawyers are committed to providing the aggressive defense you need. We understand the serious consequences of a conviction and will work to protect your rights and future. Our criminal defense attorneys have extensive experience handling all types of DUI cases and can help you navigate the legal process.

Call (909) 771-2304 or contact us online today to schedule a free initial consultation with our team.

What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI in California?

Underage DUI is a serious offense in California. If you are convicted, you will face a number of criminal penalties. Additionally, you will face administrative penalties from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

The criminal penalties for a first-time underage DUI conviction include:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • License suspension for 1 year
  • Required completion of a DUI education program

If you are convicted of a second or subsequent underage DUI, the penalties will be even more severe. You will face up to 1 year in county jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a 2-year license suspension. You will also be required to complete a DUI education program.

In addition to these criminal penalties, you will also face administrative penalties from the DMV. If you are under the age of 21 and are found to have any alcohol in your system, the DMV will automatically suspend your license for 1 year. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, the DMV will suspend your license for 2 years. You have the right to request a DMV hearing to challenge the suspension of your license. However, you must do so within 10 days of your arrest.

How to Fight Underage DUI Charges

Being charged with underage DUI can be a frightening experience. However, it is important to remember that an arrest is not the same as a conviction. There are a number of defenses that can be used to fight underage DUI charges. An experienced attorney can review the facts of your case and determine the best defense strategy.

Some common defenses to underage DUI charges include:

  • Illegal traffic stop
  • Inaccurate field sobriety test results
  • Inaccurate breathalyzer test results
  • Inaccurate blood or urine test results
  • Violation of Title 17
  • Rising blood alcohol
  • Failure to read Miranda rights
  • Violation of your constitutional rights

Our San Bernardino underage DUI attorneys have a comprehensive understanding of California DUI laws and can help you build a strong defense. We will work to protect your rights and future every step of the way.

Can You Get a DUI at 18?

Yes, you can get a DUI at 18. In California, the legal drinking age is 21. However, if you are under the age of 21 and are found to have any alcohol in your system, you can be charged with underage DUI. This is true even if your BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08%. In fact, it is possible to be charged with underage DUI if your BAC is below 0.01%.

It is important to note that you can also be charged with underage DUI if you are found to have any amount of drugs in your system. This is true even if the drugs are legally prescribed to you. If you are under the age of 21 and are found to have any alcohol or drugs in your system, you can be charged with underage DUI.

How Long Does an Underage DUI Stay on Your Record?

If you are convicted of underage DUI, the conviction will remain on your criminal record indefinitely. This means that anyone who performs a background check on you will be able to see the conviction. This can make it difficult to find employment, secure housing, or obtain a loan. Additionally, if you are convicted of a second or subsequent underage DUI, the conviction will be considered a priorable offense. This means that the penalties for a subsequent DUI will be more severe.

However, if you are convicted of underage DUI, you may be eligible to have the conviction expunged from your record. If your conviction is expunged, it will be removed from your criminal record and you will not be required to disclose it to potential employers, landlords, or lenders. Additionally, if you are asked if you have ever been convicted of a crime, you can legally answer “no.”

In order to have your conviction expunged, you must complete all the terms of your probation and not be facing any other criminal charges. You must also wait at least one year from the date of your conviction. If you are eligible, our attorneys can help you file a petition to have your conviction expunged.

How Does an Underage DUI Affect College Applications?

If you are convicted of underage DUI, the conviction will remain on your criminal record indefinitely. This means that anyone who performs a background check on you will be able to see the conviction. This can make it difficult to get into college or secure financial aid. Many colleges and universities require applicants to disclose any criminal convictions. If you are asked if you have ever been convicted of a crime, you must answer “yes.”

However, if you are convicted of underage DUI, you may be eligible to have the conviction expunged from your record. If your conviction is expunged, it will be removed from your criminal record and you will not be required to disclose it to potential colleges or lenders. Additionally, if you are asked if you have ever been convicted of a crime, you can legally answer “no.”

In order to have your conviction expunged, you must complete all the terms of your probation and not be facing any other criminal charges. You must also wait at least one year from the date of your conviction. If you are eligible, our attorneys can help you file a petition to have your conviction expunged.

Call (909) 771-2304 or contact us online today to schedule a free initial consultation with our team.

Meet Our Team

Experienced & Knowledgeable Attorneys

Why Choose Bullard & Powell, APC.?

  • We Value Quality Service Over Quantity of Cases
  • Sympathetic & Understanding Service
  • Well-Known by Local District Attorneys & Judges
  • Over 30 Years of Combined Experience

Client Testimonials

Feedback From Real People We've Helped
  • "Good communication, very thorough, as well as professional."
    Charlie
  • "When I chose Bullard & Powell I made sure I based my decision on how important my future was to me, after speaking with Mr. Bullard I knew it was just as important to him. From the beginning, he was ..."
    Danny
  • "Sarah Powell is an amazing lawyer. My husband was in a pretty bad situation but she worked her magic on his DUI case and he was able to avoid jail time and a felony charge that would have ruined his ..."
    Ariel
  • "I called 3 other attorneys and Mr. Bullard was the only one that was able to help me. Next time I’m calling him first! He didn’t BS me and treated me with respect and decency. I’ll refer everyone to ..."
    Christian
  • "Bullard & Powell took care of my 2 felony charges that required jail time. Attorney Jeff Bullard got one charge dismissed & probation on the other with no jail time whatsoever. They were quick to ..."
    Pius
  • "I made the correct choice by calling Bullard & Powell."
    Gary